Details & Instructions

The Bhakti Shastri course has four Subjects that are taught in 6 modules as shown below along with the weightage of assessments for each book.

Books covered:

  1. Bhagavad-gita
  2. Nectar of Instruction (Sri Upadesamrita)
  3. Sri Isopanisad
  4. Nectar of Devotion (Sri Bhakti Rasamrita Sindhu)

Six Modules:

  1. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 1-6 (BG1)
  2. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 7-12 (BG2)
  3. Bhagavad Gita – Chapters 13-18 (BG3)
  4. Nectar of Instruction (NOI)
  5. Sri Isopanishad (ISO)
  6. Nectar of Devotion (NOD)

The students can do assessments of a module only after completing the assessments of the previous module.

DurationOne year

  • This includes course work & assessments
  • Can be extended up to 6 months if some candidates need more time to complete assessments.

Platform: Video recordings of the classes can be accessed on the website portal

Eligibility to enroll:

  • A sincere desire to study and understand scriptures
  • Basic sastric knowledge and understanding
  • The practice of Krishna consciousness for at least one year
  • Chanting of 16 rounds & following 4 regulative principles
  • A recommendation letter from an ISKCON Authority/temple president who knows the candidate well.

Teacher: Gauranga Darshan Das (Author | Dean, Bhaktivedanta Vidyapitha)

Weightage of Assessments for certification:

  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 1-6 - 20%
  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 7-12 - 20%
  • Bhagavad Gita Chapters 13-18 - 20%
  • Nectar of Instruction (NOI) - 10%
  • Sri Isopanishad (ISO) - 10%
  • Nectar of Devotion (NOI) - 20%

- In order to get the Bhakti Shastri degree from the ISKCON Board of Examinations, the candidate has to secure 65% in each of the six modules.

Complete and Continue